List of new cardinals named by Pope Francis

This post was originally published on this site

Cardinal Electors under 80 will be able to enter a conclave to elect the next pope after Francis dies or retires:

1. Archbishop Arthur Roche (British) – Prefect of the Vatican Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments

2. Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung-sik (South Korean) – Prefect of the Vatican Congregation for the Clergy

3. Archbishop Fernando Vérgez Alzaga (Spanish) – President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate for Vatican City State

4. Archbishop Jean-Marc Aveline – Metropolitan Archbishop of Marseille, France

5. Bishop Peter Okpaleke – Bishop of Ekwulobia, Nigeria

6. Archbishop Leonardo Ulrich Steiner – Metropolitan Archbishop of Manaus, Brazil

7. Archbishop Filipe Neri António Sebastião di Rosário Ferrão – Archbishop of Goa and Damão, India

8. Bishop Robert Walter McElroy – Bishop of San Diego, California, United States

9. Archbishop Virgilio Do Carmo Da Silva – Archbishop of Dili, East Timor

10. Bishop Oscar Cantoni – Bishop of Como, Italy

11. Archbishop Anthony Poola – Archbishop of Hyderabad, India

12. Archbishop Paulo Cezar Costa – Metropolitan Archbishop of Brasília, Brazil

13. Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr – Bishop of Wa, Ghana

14. Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye – Archbishop of Singapore

15. Archbishop Adalberto Martínez Flores – Metropolitan Archbishop of Asunción, Paraguay

16. Archbishop Giorgio Marengo (Italian) – Apostolic Prefect of Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.

New cardinals over 80:

1. Archbishop Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal – Archbishop Emeritus of Cartagena, Colombia

2. Archbishop Lucas Van Looy – Archbishop Emeritus of Gent, Belgium

3. Archbishop Arrigo Miglio – Archbishop Emeritus of Cagliari, Italy

4. Fr. Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.J. – Professor of Theology

5. Msgr. Fortunato Frezza – Canon of Saint Peter’s Basilica

Add Comment