Day Ahead: Top 3 Things to Watch for Jan. 9

This post was originally published on this site
https://i-invdn-com.akamaized.net/news/LYNXMPED9I11Y_M.jpg
© Reuters. © Reuters.

Investing.com – Here are 3 things that could rock the markets tomorrow.

1. Job Cuts and Claims Due

Employment data will continue to draw attention tomorrow as Friday’s December payrolls report approaches.

At 7:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT) outplacement firm Challenger reports its December figures. Layoffs came in at about 44,600 in November.

At 8:30 AM ET the Labor Department will report weekly initial jobless claims.

for first time unemployment are seen edging down to 220,000 for last week, according to economists’ forecasts compiled by Investing.com.

2. Fed Talking Heads Coming Up

There are a bevy of Fed speakers on tomorrow’s docket.

Federal Reserve Board Vice Chairman will speak at 8:00 AM ET (13:00 GMT) on international economics at the Council of Foreign Relations in New York.

At 9:30 AM ET, Minneapolis Fed President will give opening remarks at the 2020 Regional Economic Conditions Conference.

New York Fed President John Williams will be on a Bank of England panel on inflation targeting, which starts at 11:30 AM ET.

And at 1:20 PM ET, Chicago Fed President will be on an economic forecast panel hosted by the Milwaukee Business Journal.

The market is still convinced that this month’s FOMC meeting is a foregone conclusion, pricing in a 90% chance of no change in interest rates, according to Investing.com’s .

3. KB Home Set to Report

The earnings calendar is a bit thin, but there will be more numbers from the homebuilding sector.

KB Home (NYSE:) will report its quarterly numbers tomorrow after the bell.

Analysts are predicting a of $1.29 per share with sales of about $1.6 billion

Lennar (NYSE:) reported today, with a jump in new orders.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Add Comment